Lego and Books. Out of this world!

case; exploding brain; rachel hamilton; books; lego; photography; minifigs; minifigure; worldofminifigs; world of minifigs; book titles;

It really was an out of this world reading experience!

What has LEGO and a book about exploding brains got to do with each other?

Unless it’s a book about Lego, normally not a lot is the honest answer. That was until a chance remark almost a year ago. In fact exploding brains did not even come into it. Back then it was toilets…. exploding ones!

I have often been asked how I come up with ideas for my photographs. The honest answer is I don’t really know. I like spontaneity and my brain fires off little sparks and explosions (did you see what I did there 😉 ) formulating ideas from the most random snippets of information that comes my way.

Which is exactly what happened last year with Rachel Hamilton, author of ‘The Case of the Exploding Loo’ and ‘The Case of the Exploding Brain’. A chance remark from Rachel whilst commenting on a discussion about what types of books 8-12 year olds like to read, she happened to mention that she liked Lego……. Does anyone NOT like Lego? (Except for standing on it in bare feet, then it’s justified to not like it for that moment in time!)

lego; minifigs; minifigure; photography; minifgure; worldofminifigs; world of minifigs;y; minifgure; worldofminifigs; world of minifigs;

That painful moment when you realise you’ve just stood on a LEGO brick whilst half asleep. Ouch!

As part of this conversation she brought up exploding toilets, at which point I remembered that it was also something to do with her book. That was all the inspiration my little brain needed to produce the following image for her last year, as part of my photography project.

lego; minifigs; minifigure; photography; minifgure; worldofminifigs; world of minifigs; Rachel Hamilton

The bathroom was the only place Rachel got a moments peace to read some of her book. She just hoped the title wasn’t going to come true

So this year was no different. As soon as she mentioned the title for her latest book, the ideas started whizzing and exploding inside my brain like they do. And then she asked if I’d like to be part of the blog tour for the release of ‘The Case of the Exploding Brain’! To say I was excited was probably an understatement. I had so much fun creating last years book related image, that was probably the reason behind this years photography project which is based on book titles, of course all created using LEGO Minifigs. #booklego was born.

case; exploding brain; rachel hamilton; books; lego; photography; minifigs; minifigure; worldofminifigs; world of minifigs; book titles;

The Case of the Exploding Brain ~ Rachel Hamilton

Rachel also kindly took a few moments out of her busy schedule to answer a couple of questions……

WOM: Hi Rachel.  Thank you for visiting us on your blog tour. Did you like, or have Lego as a child?

RH: Yes I loved Lego as a kid, but I never had any of the fancy packs with instructions. We just had a big box full of the stuff and had to make up our own designs.

WOM: I think that’s the best way of firing up the imagination creatively. Free building is great and also helps enable practical problem solving skills in the process.

If you could have anything made from Lego what would it be?  Toilets not allowed as I’ve already technically created that vision for you even if it’s with digital Lego rather than the real McCoy. 

RH: As a child I used to want a Lego bed, but as an adult, I realise this would be horribly uncomfortable.I am slightly obsessed with walruses, so I’d quite like a Lego walrus!

WOM: Yes a Lego bed would be rather uncomfortable, as I think James May found out when he built a full scale Lego house for one of his Toy Story programmes. Imagine waking up every morning with Lego nobbles imprinted into your skin! Hmmm a Lego walrus…..how interesting * brain starts firing off thought explosions once again*

Who knows what will happen!

 

Exploding Brains Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

