New Year, New Start….. Books!

Memoirs of a Geisha; Arthur Golden; lego; minifigs; minifigure; photography; minifgure; worldofminifigs; world of minifigs; lego; minifigs; minifigure; photography; worldofminifigs; world of minifigs; book; titles;

Memoirs of a Geisha ~ Arthur Golden

Welcome back. It’s the start of yet another year. They do seem to be speeding by these days.

I was rummaging through the collection of Minifigs we have, trying to think of a concept for the first image of the new year. I’ve been trying to find a good reason to use this minifig for a long time now, and once again she jumped out at me in the box. Every time I pick her up I think about the book by Arthur Golden; Memoirs of a Geisha.

It’s a book that I read a couple of years or so ago, after a group of friends compiled a list of their 10 most favourite books. I started working my way through the compiled list of all the book suggested that I hadn’t read. This book was one of those, and I have to say I certainly enjoyed it.

So you may be wondering, other than the reasons given above, why I decided to start the year off with a slight detraction from my usual kind of work?

I felt it was time once again that I refocused my mind in terms of my photography project. Which is what I did 3 years ago when I started the blog and chose Lego Minifigures as my subject choice. I obviously still wanted to keep with the Minifigs. I couldn’t possibly stop using them just yet, but I needed another challenge to keep everything ‘fresh’.

So why not combine another passion of mine, reading!

I therefore decided, after using a few friends as soundboards to the idea, that each photograph this year will relate to a book title in one way or another.

Welcome to the first in the series. Hopefully along the way I’ll recreate perhaps one of your favourite books, or it may just inspire you to pick up and read something you hadn’t considered before……

Memoirs of a Geisha ~ During the 1930’s, a young Japanese girl, whose family is unable to support her, sells her to a geisha house, along with her older sister. A geisha is a professional female companion for men in Japan, trained in music, dancing, and the art of conversation. The geisha training is a life of virtual slavery, and she finds herself working as maid to a  famous, bitter and ill-mannered geisha who is jealous of Chiyo’s beauty,makes her life utterly miserable.
6 comments on “New Year, New Start….. Books!

  1. Chris says:

    That’s a great idea. Coincidently my pic for today relates to a play. Not that I watch that many plays but a new minifig lent itself to a visual pun.

    • ooh I love a good pun, will go and check out in a minute or two. Glad you think it’s a good idea. Needed a challenge and I think I’ve definitely given myself one. Good job I like challenges 🙂

  2. RachelHamiltonBooks says:

    I absolutely love this idea (I would, wouldn’t I?!) and I can’t wait to see all the pictures. You should make postcards too as I’ve love to order a bunch at the end of the year to stick on the wall of my writing room 🙂

    • Thank you…..postcards I can actually do. I do have a couple of ‘publicity’ type ones somewhere. Indeed I used a couple at Christmas as cards 🙂
      A writing room sounds lovely!

  3. Kirsten says:

    Loving your posts based on books!!!!

Leave a Reply

