Week 39…….Lost in Translation?

lego; photography; minifigs; minfigures; world of minifigs; worldofminifigs

They really were taking the biscuit…..Nice!

‘Takes the biscuit’ is a fairly British phrase, that is used to show either surprise or irritation after something has happened, or behaviour which is stupid, rude, selfish or outrageous may be described as taking the biscuit, and is similar to the US phrase of  ‘take the cake’: I believe.

However I can’t say I’ve heard anyone use the term ‘that really takes the biscuit’ these days; unless they are in the company of an older relative who would probably wash their mouth out with soap and water if they used a more modern equivalent version.

However back to the humble biscuit…who doesn’t like a nice biscuit?…or cookie if that’s what you prefer to call them

(I’ve just realised without thinking that that was a bit of a pun!)

I don’t necessarily mean nice biscuits as in the ones in the photo, as there are many different types of biscuit to be enjoyed, one of my favourites has to be a malted milk biscuit, they take me back to being little again, not that I got them often. Anything covered in chocolate normally has to be a winner too in my book…….so what is your favourite biscuit (or cookie if you prefer)?

6 comments on “Week 39…….Lost in Translation?

  1. Eric at A Lego a Day says:

    Hmmmm. I could really go for some cookies now!

  2. alythmum says:

    custard creams biscuits I think … although fig rolls remind me of school along with ‘squashed flies’! (AKA Garibaldi 🙂 )

  3. yodaman5556 says:

    The biscuits I like are mostly the ones that are covered in nice chocolate! 🙂 I love the photo with the construction workers carting off the biscuit!

Leave a Reply

