Week 33…..A Butchered Job

Well the Olympics are over, the Paralympics are still to come, the kids have just gone back to school and tomorrow is D day, or should that really be knee day?

I’m getting this weeks blog done early  as I’ll not be able to spend as much time at the computer over the next week or so, as tomorrow I’m heading back for another round of knee surgery.

I’m hoping it will be fixed properly this time around. I just want to be able to enjoy the things I like properly, namely physical exercise and sport type things, but it would be nice to be able to bend down and pick something up off the floor with ease, or to bend down easily, without having to lunge or sit down on the floor to help my kids tie shoe laces, get things off supermarket shelves and do the gardening.  Most people wouldn’t actually know by looking at me how restrictive it can be, or sore at times. I just get on doing what I can even if I have to modify the way in which I do do it. But being ‘normal’ again would be great

It’s been just over 2 years since I first injured my knee. I’ve had tears on the meniscus already trimmed back and that made a huge difference, but it never cured it fully. I’ve had that many rehab sessions at the hospital, I seem to have met most of the physios in the department and am on 1st name terms with some of the receptionists, I’ve been in and out that often.

However the rehab hasn’t solved all my issues, and in fact the last round actually added to the problem and caused more pain and inflammation at the time.

So it’s back onto the operating table I go followed by another stint at the physio department. I’m hoping a certain physio has moved departments as she never did seem to  ‘like’ me, just a vibe, not to mention the look she gave me last time I went in after I was discharged  from the knee group, and was seeing another physio one to one. Didn’t even say Hi, how you doing, how come you’re back kind of thing. With these kind of injuries and long rehab you  need someone who comes across as being on your side, and there to help you, and to listen to you effectively. After all it’s your body so only you can say what it feels like, or know if something isn’t quite right with it, they are there to help you, encourage you to get it working again as it should.

So this weeks Project 52 photo reflects what is happening. I just hope it doesn’t actually happen to me in this way!

lego; photography; minifigs; minfigures; world of minifigs; worldofminifigs

This was not the moment for the anesthetic to wear off

13 comments on “Week 33…..A Butchered Job

  1. Eric says:

    Yikes. Sorry to hear about your knee issues. Hope your surgery goes well!

  2. alythmum says:

    Good Luck for tomorrow … what are they claiming they are going to do this time?
    Take Care. xxxx

    • legogirl says:

      TY, they are claiming a lateral release will be the answer to my patellar tilt, pain and limited ROM. Time will tell!
      Perhaps I shouldn’t have mangled up my knee in the 1st place, but hey ho, that’s life

  3. alythmum says:

    Take Care … and make sure soimeone else does the hard work – for a change. LoL.

    • legogirl says:

      lol I’m trying my best,it won’t last long though, but will try and get as much out of it as possible. ES is not the most co-operative at times, think YS could make his breakfast with less mess than ES

  4. alythmum says:

    How’s it going? xxx

  5. Gennadiy says:

    Reblogged on http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gymgourou/: Incredible story of hard work and creativity!

Leave a Reply

