Week 22…..Fever Pitch

Unless you have been hibernating for the past few months and certainly the past few weeks, almost anyone in the world will be aware that it is nearly that time of the sporting calendar again, where the Olympics are here. Even more so is the media frenzy in the UK where it is being held this year in London.

I love sports, my favourite being rugby union which I played for many a year until I obtained a persistent knee injury. I’ve also played field hockey, roller hockey and competed at the high jump in athletics. These days I can just about manage a game of tennis to keep my sporting need ticking over. So of course I’m looking forward to watching the Olympics. If you can’t join in then watching a medley of different sporting activities is the next best thing, not the same, but a good 2nd best.

I’ve always wanted to represent my nation in sport at the Olympics, sadly a dream that is unlikely to happen these days. I’ve been very close to representing my country, but fate and life have played their part, and it wasn’t meant to be. However despite age being against me these days you never know what will happen in the future.

So in the UK we are getting daily updates on the progress of the Olympic torch and it’s journey around the whole of the UK before it gets back to London in time for the start of the games. It’s not passed by here just yet, but is due to in a couple of weeks. And it’s also due to pass near to a family members house where we happen to be staying for a couple of days at the same time. So I may get to see it twice.

Some lucky minifigs got to witness it first hand for themselves yesterday, why should they miss out on all the fun. I bet they even have their own Minifigure Games too.

lego; photography; minifigs; minfigures; world of minifigs; worldofminifigs

There was much excitement as the Olympic torch passed by on its countrywide tour

So are you looking forward to the Olympics, or not really fussed?

Also what sports have you participated in during your life so far, and which is your favourite?

6 comments on “Week 22…..Fever Pitch

  1. Minifig Fun says:

    oh my goodness!!!! such an awesome scene you created! When I was young and fit, in high school, i played volleyball, baseball but my favorite was American football. Unfortunately, we got rid of cable television as one of the ways to save money so I can be a stay at home mom. So I don’t think i’ll be watching much of the Olympics, maybe a little online.

    • legogirl says:

      Oh I hope you can catch some, but know exactly where you are coming from regards being a SAHM.

      Volleyball, forgot I played that at school, we started up a team and only played one other school once. lol

  2. Eric says:

    We LOVE the Olympics. Watch as much of it as we can!

  3. was lucky enough to see the torch while I was on holiday in Chester last week – hadn’t realised how exciting it would be 🙂

    • legogirl says:

      Apologies for taking me so long to reply. Missed it 1st time around, and then as one of my latest post explains I’ve been offline for a while!
      It was quite exciting when we finally got to see it for real. I hope at least it made up for some of the disappointments you had whilst you were away 🙂

Leave a Reply

